High Power 2-Stage build thread

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

csoechtig

Reaction score
I’m taking the leap into the realm of Multi-Stage High Power Rocketry. I know there are many ways to configure air-starts and deployments. So, with some research and a little common sense, here’s what I came up with…

The rocket will be scratch built using 3” diameter LOC Precision tubing (with 2 layers of 5.79 oz. fiberglass). The fins will be 1/8” plywood (with 1 layer of 5.79 oz. fiberglass for strength). The booster and sustainer will both have 38mm MMTs.

I am using 2 LOC AV bays (one for the Sustainer and one for the booster). I know it adds weight and might not be the most practical configuration. However, I have a lot of experience with this type of set up and want to keep it simple for my first 2 stage build.

The sustainer AV bay will be rigged for dual deployment with 100% redundancy using 1x SL100 and 1x RRC3 Xtreme Altimeter. The RRC3 has a configurable third “Aux” output (for air-starts) with a variety of safety features to ensure the rocket is pointing in the right direction before the sustainer is lit. (Thanks Dave / DavDue).

I plan to run 1/4” stainless steel tubing through the center rings and up the sustainer airframe to just shy of the AV bay. A set of wires will be attached to some form of release clip and run down through the ¼ tube to the Sustainer Igniter. (Thanks John / aka Droopy).

Inside the Booster AV bay will be 1x SL100 Altimeter and 1x Perfect Flight timer. The timer will be used to ignite a separation charge that will extract the booster from the sustainer. (Thanks Jim / aka JimJarvis). The Altimeter will be set to deploy a Booster chute.