Cracked Phenolic Liner

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Buckaroo

Reaction score
Background: I am a high power noob. I have flown a total of 4 flights using 38mm AT "H" reloads.

Tonight I sat down to put together my first "I" motor, a I225FJ. When a got all the parts out on the table I noticed that the phenolic liner was cracked at one end. :mad:

I was not totally hosed, since I had ordered several different motors that fit the 38/480 case I figure I would just "borrow" the liner from one of them. I opened up the first one (an I154J) and discovered that liner was cracked at one end as well :bang: I opened another one (an I211W) and finally got a liner that was intact.

All of these reloads were mail ordered, and appeared to be packed well.

Is this a common problem? I haven't heard it discussed much so I am wondering if I just got unlucky?

If the liners are cracked on my new I59s tomorrow I'm gonna hurt somebody :hot:

Liner Crack 001 cropped.jpg

Liner Crack 2 003 cropped.jpg

You can use the cracked liners. I would recommend using them on the J and FJ loads as this propellant burns cooler than White Lightning. I have seen J350s with cracked liners fly successfully many times with no damage to the case. Do not use the liner if there is a gap. Do not use a cracked liner with an I59 as this is an end burner and needs all the insulation available. Make sure the grains fit easily, peel if necessary to prevent the crack from spreading open. I would put the cracked end toward the nozzle.

I flew an H250G back in July with a liner that had about a quarter inch long crack with no problems.