Scratch building BAR

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

apburner

APBurner
Reaction score
So I am a BAR. I was certified to level 2 back around 2000 now I am back. I was going thru a bunch of my old stuff
and found a scratch built rocket I had not flown but was built like a truck so I used it to certify level 1 a few weeks ago.
ugly end veiw postable.jpgUgly side veiw postable.jpg
I t was successful So now it is painted and all pretty LOL. Anyway I have found a 4 inch body tube in my stuff that
already has a 38mm mount installed and it is just begging for some strange fins to go into it. So this is what I have come up with.
I am just beginning to learn open rocket So there may be some flaws in the design. But I think it's pretty close.
Oh also I don't really care about the drag of the holes and they might make this thing whistle reallt loud. :-0

Attachments

• flame fin.rkt
    22 KB · Views: 84
Last edited:
Whoa, those are the craziest fins I've ever seen! What will you make them out of? Your Rocksim file says they're 0.118" cardboard. That can't be right.

You're going to glass the fins? Are you going to glass them first then cut them out? I hope you have a scroll saw.

yes I have a scroll saw. I wouldn't attempt those fins any other way. I don't think I will
glass these. though I may throw a layer ofglass on the leading edge.

yes I have a scroll saw. I wouldn't attempt those fins any other way. I don't think I will
glass these. though I may throw a layer ofglass on the leading edge.

Personally, I don't think you need to glass these fins if you're using 1/4" birch plywood. Unless you're planning on some extreme motors.

Nope not gonna get stupid. This is going to be my altimeter learning bird. I've never used an altimeter and and there for by extension have never done dual deploy either.
So thats what this ones going to be.

Last edited: