The Launch Pad HARM AGM-88 CG / CP Question

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DBB

Reaction score
I picked up a TLP HARM kit a while back and am just getting around to building it. I would like to find where CG/CP needs to be for this kit, or to otherwise be enlightened on how to determine this. I'm not experienced with either RocSim or OpenRocket - I've found a couple of HARM RocSim files, but they indicate that they were scratch-built, so I have no idea how the materials chosen for those might compare to the TLP kit.

Starting from scratch in OpenRocket seems difficult, because I have no idea as to the parts that TLP uses for this kit, especially when it comes to the nose cone.

I'm probably over-complicating this, but I want this one to fly true; I plan on putting a lot of time into the finish and don't want a crack-up if I ever should fly it (it would seem a shame not to).

The commercially available decals seem really good, but I may try making my own to more accurately reflect the real thing - maybe a mix of the two. Also going to shoot for some more realistic leading edge fin treatments, and at some point, it would be neat to replace the TLP nose cone to more accurately reflect the 88's ogive, too, but I doubt I'd be able to find one.

I spent a lot of years on the actual HARM program, so I've got a soft spot in my heart for this bird (traveled the globe supporting the thing - at one point touched/tested every one in the Air Force inventory, so I pretty much know every bolt, hatch, and designation used on the airframe, including CG - would that point translate to a scale model?).