Electronics Bays for mounting electronics instead of nose cones

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MJT

Reaction score
I'm reasonably new to HPR, and I have a question. Why are electronics almost always mounted in a separate electronics bay on rockets? Why not nestle them in the nose cone?

I am no expert...

However, the following three considerations come to mind:

• Altimeter accuracy when placed too close to the nose cone. I believe that the altimeter likes "clean" air-flow as opposed to the turbulent air by the nose cone.
  • In the case of a dual-deploy setup where the altimeter controls the firing of your ejection charges you will have to get tricky in order to connect your altimeter to the drogue section ejection charge. (This is not an issue if you are using the motor ejection charge for the drogue section)
  • The nose cone is a good spot to put your tracker/GPS hardware when working with smaller diameter dual deploy rockets because the tracker transmitter can interfere with the altimeter functions.

I hope that helps.

Cor

I'm reasonably new to HPR, and I have a question. Why are electronics almost always mounted in a separate electronics bay on rockets? Why not nestle them in the nose cone?

Hi MJT! Welcome to TRF! That's really a good question and I'm just walking point in the minefield but I'll start off with a few generic answers.
1) The most common reason for 'av bays', 'e-bays', 'sleds' or 'payload compartments' is to keep the electronics isolated from the corrosive effects of black powder most commonly used in deployment
2) In 'dual deployment' where there is a drogue and a main chute, there needs to be space above and below for the 'laundry'-chutes, streamers, etc. These two individual compartments can be pressurized independently of each other in sequence.