Any recommendations for a low altitude Level 2 certification rocket kit?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnny O

Reaction score
I might need to stay under 1,500 feet for my Level 2 certification. Any ideas on a good kit and motor combination?

Scratch build. You can design and build whatever fits your needs and budget. Plus, it's MUCH more rewarding. A lot of people on here ask a similar "what kit should I build" and I always post what I just said.

Welcome to TRF, We look forward to hearing more from you.

Alex

Welcome!!

If you want to keep it that low, probably best to scratch it.

I have never done a +1 on a thread before, but you can't go wrong with one of Eric's kits at Baddazz. I have 2 and ordering up another shortly. +1 to my +1.;)

Russ Westergaard

I'm assuming you mean 1500 feet AGL, not MSL?

Based on your requirements, drag is your friend. That takes the vast majority of the kits on the market out of the running (sorry, Eric - your stuff is too aerodynamic!).

One of the first choices that comes to mind is a LOC Warloc.

Even then, you're going to need to run a sim -- I'm not 100% certain a Warloc will stay in your altitude requirements.

-Kevin

Any particular reason you're shooting for so low an altitude on a L2 rocket?
Seems to me at that altitude you can have a whole lot more fun, for a WHOLE lot less money, flying smaller motors. Trying to rein in a J/K/L motor to under 1500' means a big, heavy, draggy, tank of a rocket. It can be done of course, but why?

That said, I second the scratch build suggestion. Although Eric does makes some very tasty offerings.....

Or you could build/fly a saucer of course.

s6

I am in New England so most of our launch sites are relatively small with less than 5,000 ft AGL waivers.

There is the Shadow Aero

Ultra Fat Boy, or just the Fatboy.

Again you would have to run the sims.