BorKy QCC Explorer build

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeerorKid

Reaction score
Well it seems you like build threads. I am pretty new to the whole rocket thing, but the QCC was so adored here I picked one up. Man those intake bits are complex. First one I built with wood glue, but the rest were CA.

8328736114_bffa07de46_c.jpg

8328737936_947c3a750d_c.jpg

8328739394_7e2e11e1d9_c.jpg

Epoxy on the green retaining ring

8328740144_cccfdface0_c.jpg

8328742950_e63d4a5f2c_c.jpg

8327686471_790fb31a5a_c.jpg

Wood filler is setting. I think this is going to go darn well. Will do black on the upper, but stick to the orig for the rest. I am looking forward to the decals. Should be fun.

8328736114_bffa07de46_c.jpg

I just bought one of these myself yesterday. Havent started it yet, still finishing repairs on an Initiator. How is it working with that wood filler? Ive never used it.

I just bought one of these myself yesterday. Havent started it yet, still finishing repairs on an Initiator. How is it working with that wood filler? Ive never used it.

My first time using it. 400 grit sandpaper does not work well with it. Polishes it to a plastic like surface. Ended up using a tougher sanding block to get it to look good.

8333566531_6bdffd3065_c.jpg

Getting there slowly

Nice job on those intakes! They're tricky but kinda fun to build.

My first time using it. 400 grit sandpaper does not work well with it. Polishes it to a plastic like surface. Ended up using a tougher sanding block to get it to look good.

8333566531_6bdffd3065_c.jpg

Getting there slowly

3M makes a 320 grit sand paper that is clog resistant. Says so right on the front of the package. :smile:
This is a handy thing to know.

Here's the results I got (and you can get to) using Elmers wood filler and clog resistant sand paper.