FNG checking in!

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RocketJ2

Used To Be Missile Engine Tech
Reaction score
Hello all!

Been lurking the forum for a couple weeks, figured I'd join up and ask all the dumb newbie questions! LOL

My name is Jason, I'll admit I'm definately NOT a Rocket Scientist! I did, however, used to overhaul the engines (F107-400 and -402) for Tomahawk cruise missiles. They aren't rockets, though. ;) I also have worked on PT6A's and FJ44's on the commercial side. Currently, I am a Prototype Transmission Technician for Ford in Livonia. I also am working on my BS in Aviation/Technology Management at Eastern Michigan University, am a father of two GREAT boys (11 and 8) and have a lovey wife. All this along with coaching soccer for my kids school, Boy Scouts, trying to play the guitar... well, generally living life.

That said, I used "MY" Christmas money last year and bought a "Tandem X" pack from Hobby Lobby this January. I off and on fiddled with the Crossfire, to the point it was primed and flyable. Right about then, my oldest joined a Boy Scout Troop and lo and behold, they were working on Rocketry merit badge! It was meant to be! LOL. My first attempt at flying a rocket was at about the same age as my son is now (10 or 11) and it didn't end well. It did not clear the rod, actually. So, I put rockets on the back burner for about 20 years or so...