Parachute upgrades in the UK...

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ArthurSull

Reaction score
One of the only online suppliers for model rocketry in the UK sells these chutes in their upgrade kits.

IMG_20121210_101623.jpg
I'm a complete noob still, can we discuss the benefits of these compared to the usual stock chutes. It's obviously worth the investment right? Anything I can do do improve the quality of this chute even more?
What material do you guys use over the pond?

Ben

for use below 5C (40F) ripstop nylon is my choice(plastic chutes tend to not open in cold weather).
rex

Hi Ben,

What you need for a chute(s) depends on the application. The heavier a rocket, the more critical it is that it come down in a controlled fashion. The faster it can go, the more critical it is that the recovery system can take very high loads.

On the largest projects, people use man rated chutes or their equivalents or near equivalents without the rating. On the fastest projects, the drogue chutes may be designed for successful deployment at speeds exceeding mach 1.

At the smallest and lightest end, hobby rockets have used tumble recovery, streamers, plastic chutes, helicopter recovery...

The recovery system needs to be sized to the intended rocket. One is typically aiming for a descent rate of between 15 and 25 fps. The rate should be slow enough to essentially ensure that there is no damage to the rocket upon landing (or minimal, in certain special cases) and minimal risk of damage to whatever the rocket might land on!