CATIA, NX, Rhino, AutoCAD, SolidWorks, SpaceClaim.... OH MY!???

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

A5tr0 An0n

Reaction score
Greetings fellow TRF,
I have read a couple different threads and can't seem to find what I am looking for. Anyways I am new here and think this is the appropriate place to post this. If not Mods please move :)

I would like to know if anybody can tell me the pros and cons in these CAD's CATIA, NX, Rhino, AutoCAD, SolidWorks, SpaceClaim (if you know any others please inform)??? I am new to using CADs so this will be my first one. Thats why I need your help! I want to use it only to build rockets and launch towers (maybe launch controllers too :))Also what about any CAM's? Thank you fellow TRF members!

Solidworks is very user-friendly. You can basically pick it up and teach yourself how it works. The others may be a little harder to learn. CATIA especially, because nothing is labelled well or in a logical place. Often times, things are literally hidden in CATIA and you won't be able to find them unless you know where to look. That said, CATIA (and IIRC NX) can talk to other programs a little better than Solidworks. For instance, at one of my old employers, our Solidworks wouldn't play nicely with PATRAN, so we had to go through a strange process to get the models from Solidworks to PATRAN and run the FEA. If all you want to do is simulate rockets, a program like Openrocket or Rocksim is all you really need. Launchers and the like would be best modelled by a CAD program, but these CAD programs can get expensive.

I use Rhino and I like it. Takes a little bit of getting used to, but it can model objects pretty easily once you get the hang of it. If I had my choice, I'd take SolidWorks, but I didnt have the money for it.

aeropack 98mm flange.jpgbeeline gps.jpgbeeline.jpgloki 76-6000.jpgmawd.jpg