Newb launch pad Q

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rooster2410

Reaction score
Hey guys, I am somewhat new to rocketry. I've launched a few inexpensive A, B, C engined rockets. I live in an area where I have lots of room to launch larger rockets, and would like to get some more advanced rockets; something that can handle D+. Before I spend money on the "Mantis Launch Pad" I was wondering if this is even neccesary? I've seen pics of people using some upside down, clay flower pots and other home made pads. Should I invest in a Mantis Pad? Whats the purpose of it vs using the upsidedown clay pot? I can't seem to find a whole lot of info regarding launch pads.

Basically it comes down to, is it better to just buy this package deal https://www.hobbylinc.com/htm/aro/aro89001.htm With a pretty nice rocket, Mantis Pad, and a good launch controller, or just rig my own launch pad, buy whatever rocket I want and buy a launch controller seperate.

Any advice?

BTW, I'm not talking about launching rockets that require FAA, Certificates or any other authorization....Yet.

The Mantis isn't bad, although it needs to be anchored to the ground. Better to find a local club that has pads. Since I joined a couple of local clubs, my pads get no use at all. I'm sure there are other people here from Washington that can make club recommendations.

The Mantis is a reasonable choice for low and mid power rocketry (through F or G), if you are looking for something that's easy to assemble. It has some plastic parts you need to be careful of, but mine has been in use since the late 1980's, without any problems.
Greg