Scratch built "Priority Mail"

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smiler82

Reaction score
Hello all, I've lurked here for a while, but decided I needed some input before a build...

I did lots of LPR as a youngster, and I am now getting back into this great hobby as my kids are getting bigger. My brother knows this and gave me a Priority Mail shipping tube thinking I could built a rocket out of it... hence the name Priority Mail.

Any of you who have handled these tubes know that they are fairly stout, maybe even too heavy. The tube I have is about 30" long, 2" diameter, and I'd estimate the wall thickness at over 1/16". My plan was to build this for 24/29mm and try to keep the budget as close to 0 as possible; hand made nose cone, motor mount, bulkhead(s), recovery, etc. I've never done MPR before, so I have/will be trolling these pages for info. My goal is not altitude or speed, just a very durable rocket that can be launched over and over, and be built on the cheap.

Now onto my ?'s:

I have some 1/4" pine stock laying around, and I was thinking about using this for some very stout fins. Any downsides to this? Weight is the first one I can think of...

I have not yet played with any Sim programs, so I'm wondering if my motor choices are right. I have lots of experience with Estes BP motors, and I have plenty of E9-4's laying around. My plan is to build this for 29mm and then adapt it down to 24mm for the first few flights.

Thanks in advance for any input...

Brian

Try Openrocket, it is a free sim program. I love it, and play around on it a lot.

1/4" is way to big and heavy. You could easily get by with 1/8" stock.

Kevin