Composite build

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tbone

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I'm Going to document a build I have been working on for the last three years. Ive been saving for quite a while now, hoping to make another trip to Nevada in 2013. I always wanted to build something that resembled the Nike Hercules.
Ill try to keep this thread in order and touch on highlights in an attempt not to become outright boring.

Heres a rocksim file (The initial design)

View attachment Herculesss.rkt

Last edited:
What motors are you gonna be runnin in that thing?!?!

Heres some pics of the epoxy as its being infused through the layup and then what they look like out of the mold. I adhesived all the halves together, wrapped a layer of carbon material around all the edges to lock them in and filled them with foam. Booster fins are done! To get this far it took about three weeks.

P1201590.jpg

P1201591.jpg

P1201592.jpg

fin-finished-half.gif

fin-set.gif

Very nice work!

What kind of epoxy did you use and how much do the fins weigh?

Greg

Very nice work!

What kind of epoxy did you use and how much do the fins weigh?

Greg
Hi Greg,
I infused the layup with Pro Set 175-277 laminating resin under heat lamps to help thin it as it went through.The fins are the only layup I used this epoxy for. 99% of the rocket parts were layed up using Resin Services HTR212 Resin.The fins were adhesived together with Pro set 125/226 adhesive. I used this same adhesive where ever I had to attach parts.
I think the fins wieghed close to 16oz. each. They were layed up with 8 different carbon weaves plain , 4x4 twill , and uni directional so the weaves patterns were orientated at every 30 degrees.
Heres a pic of all the material layed out on the table.

P1171567.jpg

Last edited: