Next Launch Controller

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fdog

Reaction score
It's time to update my relay-driven controller. I'm trying to add continuity check at the handset as well as (currently only at) the pad control box.

The handset and pad controller are currently powered by a car battery at the pad, and connected by up to 500' of Cat5. I'm resorting to transistors to drive the continuity check, since it didn't make sense to use an out-and-back current flow to do that function.

Since I've never worked with transistors before, can someone with more skillz than me look this over?

...if the attachment doesn't work, the schematic can also be downloaded from here as a pdf. Or, the pages are as images here (page 1) and here (page 2).

Thanks!

All the best, James

Last edited:
It's built. Amazingly it worked correctly from "first voltage". Testing it briefly, it worked perfectly with 500' of Cat5 as the wiring to the handset, and pops a 20A automotive fuse instantly.

The continuity check was measured as 2.1 mA at the microclips.

Part of my intention was to have the continuity circuit isolated when the arming relay was actuated.

...This isn't happening. It is possible to apply a faint trickle (~1.1 V) to the continuity circuit from the handset, when the arming relay is actuated. I've traced this to my choice of the 2N3904; I didn't realize that the orientation of the emitter would allow voltage passthrough.

I'll replace this transistor with a PNP, and change the handset switch to go to ground.

As with so many things, the fun has been learning about new things - in this case, transistors and stuff.

All the best, James

LaunchControllerAsBuilt.jpg