Purdue University SEDS Rocket

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kelmann

Reaction score
Hello everyone!
My name is Kelly Mann, I am the leader of this year’s Purdue SEDS Rocket team. I am new to using rocksim, and I am trying to use it to determine our required motor. Our rocket needs to hit 10,000ft as part of the scoring in this competition, but the big differentiator in this competition is whoever has the lightest rocket.
If you would like to read more about this competition here is the link:

https://seds.org/2012/01/2nd-annual-seds-high-powered-rocketry-competition-announcement/

I am currently getting a max height of 13600ft using an L1115 from Cesaroni Technology Inc. in perfect conditions

Does this seem like a reasonable engine?
Is this too much weight and thrust for what I want to do?

Please let me know what questions you have.
Thank you!

Kelly

What kit are you using and can you post the rocksim file you are using?

And since I know you, I feel like I can poke fun at you for calling it an engine and not a motor. SRM not SRE!

Hi Astronaut Farmer!
We are using an extreme Wildman, and the rocksim is on wildmanrocketry.com. I can post it here tomorrow.
Whoops, should have caught that one. Its motor from now on!
Also our payload is .5 kg.

Kelly

Last edited:
The SEDS contest looks interesting. It should be a lot of fun.
Thrustcurve.org has a list of motors that you can browse. You can filter by size and impulse class. Makes it easier to find what best fits your needs.

this may be a stupid question...but, are you permited to use a commercially availible kit?
rex

Yes you are. You can use a commercially available kit or make your own. You can also use an EX motor or a commercial motor.

-Disclaimer from myself on this thread: I led the Purdue SEDS rocket team last semester and am loosely affiliated with it this semester as well