3d printed rocket.. help?!

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

leoski

Reaction score
Hi all
Im new to the Association and have been playing with rockets on and off over the years, just for fun mostly. I am in the midst of designing a rocket to be 3d printed in a flexible plastic. Looking at the attachment does this rocket look flyable?
I wasn't intending to have any extra tubing on the rocket and my purpose in creating it was to make as smaller rocket as i could. I did make a rocket once that was very similar in design and it flew brilliantly, with a short body and long fins, true the body was slightly longer, the fins were longer and it had three fins instead of four but it seems similar enough to me.
I tested the rockets parameters in the nasa rocket modeler simulater and it flew slightly further than a standard rocket design.
The guide tube is 4mm wide in the hole and i thought it might be a bit small if i made it smaller, i do have concerns of the change of flight path due air friction on the guide tube, more than the length of the tube , i usually use drinking straws.
The rocket will be loaded with a small bit of wadding to stop the rockets backfire from burning the inside of the cone or body and will also have a primitive parachute or ribbon to slow the decent.
my main concern is the rocket flipping due to incorrect center of gravity. as of the danger of the first flight i will be launching it at the beach, away from everyone.. also the solid engine heating and fusing to the plastic is a problem. there should be enough of a lip at the top to prevent the engine flying straight out the top of the rocket:)

Can anyone give me some feedback on this rocket design? and any changes i can make to have it perform better while still keeping the rocket similar to my design

rocket design 05 render01.jpg