Zooch Saturn I SA-5

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JAL3

Reaction score
I'm just getting started on a Dr. Zooch Saturn I SA-5. The first few steps involve finishing and painting the balsa and tubes but I am looking ahead as the goop dries and have found a problem. I'm hoping the Doc will check in and let me know the answer.

The kit has three centering rings. The placement of the rings is critical. The aft one goes 1/8" from the aft end of the motor tube. The forward one goes 5.5 inches from the middle tube. The problem is with the middle tube placement. THe instructions say 1/4" in the text but 1/2" in the illustration.

Which is correct?

Of all the Dr. Zooch line, The Saturn I SA-5 is the one that most appeals to me, mainly because it is different from everything else. I'd had it for a while but did not start on it immediately because I wanted to get a few zooch kits under my belt first. I survived the building of the Little Joe LES and actually enjoyed buidling it so I figured it was time.

I know that Dr. Zooch packs a lot of rocket in those little boxes of his but I was unprepared for just how small the rocket actually is. That does not detract from the quality; it is merely an obervation.

zoozhsat5.jpg

SA5-Asmbl.jpg

SA5-box.jpg

The first step in the instructions is to do some painting. The balsa nose cone and transition needed to be painted white as did the various body tubes. I wanted this one to look good so I pulled out the Elmer's filler and applied it and set the parts aside to dry.

SA5-filler-1.jpg

SA5-filler-2.jpg

SA5-filler-3.jpg

SA5-filler-4.jpg

SA5-filler-5.jpg

While the goop was drying, I got to work on the motor mount. The motor tube is set up along a butt mounted marking guide to transfer 8 marks evenly around the tube. An angle was then used to extend the lines.

SA5-marking-guide.jpg

SA5-mm-1.jpg