NEWB Estes QCC Explorer Question

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi I'm new to the forum as well as new to model rocket building. Recently I purchased the Estes QCC Explorer kit, I realize that this is a skill level 4 rocket, and I am fairly new to rocket building, but I felt I would be up to the task if I took my time and followed the instructions carefully. Unfortunately by following the instructions carefully, I encountered a problem. In the section of the instructions for building the engine mount, they neglected to tell the builder to install the green engine block ring. It wasn't until after I have nearly completed the rocket did I notice this oversight. My question is, how important is the green engine block, and will the rocket function properly without it, or do I need to dissemble the rocket to install the ring? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

At this point, assuming that you installed the motor hook, you have two choices:
  1. You could wrap about 4 or 5 layers of 1/4" tape around the nozzle end of every Estes motor you use, remembering to cut a notch in the tape for the retainer hook.
  2. You could invest in a 24mm rms casing from either Aerotech or Rouse-Tech (which have thrust rings built into the nozzle end) and commit to using only composite motors in this particular model.
If you also left out the motor hook, your options broaden somewhat, with being able to install the green motor block, or using a CTI Pro24 motor.

Engine blocks are not a requirement, and if you ask Layne Pemberton, they could possibly cause cancer and infertility. You nearly never see them in high power rocketry, but in LPR they are used because it makes flight prep a little faster.