When is a model rocket no longer a model?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm new to paper tube rockets but enjoy watching YouTube videos of high power rockets. But I was wondering, when is a "model" rocket not considered a "model" anymore? I've seen some massive rockets launched with high tech electronics... Is it the fact that it has no payload?

Rockets and Rocket motors, each have thier own classifications...

so, a model rocket(now class 1), is defined in 14 CFR 101. by the FAA.(basicly less than 1500grams with motor, and less than 125grams of propellant.)
as you can see has some motor requirements attached.....
upper limits of the highpower/amature rockets, are more defined in motor energy-since at that level clearly defines the type of vehicle(what i read says that anyway...) so they dont really care about vehicle weight between class 2 and 3.

Class 2 FAA rockets constitue MOST high power rockets... this is Under P motors bassicly any motor that will safely fly 1501grams total rocket weight, and any rocket that an o motor will fly (40,000ns of energy)... Class 3, is P motor and above....

motors, are *mainly* classified as hpr for associative classing within the hobby. there are some/government that has an hpr deffinition for motors as well.
Some make the line at the 125 gram rule, regarless of delivered isp (impulse or energy) (my state law does it this way, which just means they follow the faa standard.)
Soo... there are a narrow band of motors such as the Aerotech H180, which can be flown as a FAA CLASS1 rocket. But are in general terms considered high power motors...

TRA and NRA follow the NFPA 1127 deffinition of high power... TRA and NAR both have on thier websites (from what i remember) definitions of HPR motors... I think tra has 14cfr101 as well(if i remember correctly, if not it should...)