Complete Newbie

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Superewza

Reaction score
First of all, hello world! :handshake:

Well i'm interested in getting into this as a hobby, my questions are going to be a big vague so bear with me. Ultimately i'm after some reading material to teach me the basics (i've seen the links in the sticky but reading long articles on a computer screen makes my eyes bleed, so it's back to a good ol' fashioned book for me :D ), which will go on my ever increasing 'to read' list.

I've been recommended the 'Handbook of Model Rocketry' by G. Harry Stine and Bill Stine, could any of you vouch for it? To give you an idea of where i am at the minute i've got an A* in GCSE Physics (and the intention to take it at A Level), but i'm lost in terms of the subforums below this one, i get some of the basic principles but none of the maths - for instance, how do you calculate thrust? I heard someone on a youtube video say it's weight*acceleration, but that doesn't sound right to me since it would imply that if something's weightless it can have no thrust - so mass*acceleration sounds more likely, and also rings a bell with those pyramids we were taught to remember it (F=M*A, F/M=A, F/A=M). Specific questions? What are the units involved (metric, if possible :cool: ), how do you calculate how fast something would travel (when acceleration=0) from the thrust and how do you measure thrust in a stationary motor test? That should get us started :)

For a first project (when i eventually get some money) i'm thinking about a stationary hybrid rocket from scratch, experimenting with a few different fuels and nozzle designs - an idea somewhat influenced by this video, which is largely responsible for my interest in this to begin with.

Thanks for any and all help with anything above, hope you can understand it and i wasn't just rambling :)