Estes Composite Motors - Coming Soon!

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GregGleason

Reaction score
Just seen on YORF:

attachment.php

:wave:

Greg

Last edited:
hmm, i wonder what made them enter the MPR market more than the E9 :O

either way great news, maybe my LHS will begin to carry composite motors since they seem to carry most everything estes has :O

hmm, looks like the molded cases are aerotech? i know those ejection caps anywhere though! :D

Last edited:
Very cool.

I have a feeling they'll be made for Estes by AT given the W, T and FJ propellant formulations.:wink:

Yep, I bet your right.

Good picks on the W & T formulations, since those are fairly easy to ignite. I have no personal experience with FJ's.

Greg

FJs seem as easy to light as T, and easier than W. Very much unlike the Js, which can be much more challenging.

If these motors are really aerotech motors, then why is Estes labeling them as theres? I wonder if there will be some advantage, like bein cheaper, more readily available.

It's very likely that they will be more visible than AT is to the average consumer, since Estes is just about the only brand most people know about for rocket motors. Hopefully, that'll drive volume up and prices down, but we'll have to see. I'm doubtful that they will ever be cheaper than AT reloads though.

(Still, this looks interesting, and I'm definitely curious to hear more)

hmm wonder when Estes will start offering rockets with 29mm mmts to match the motors...
I would imagine that having the Estes logo might entice more hobby shops to consider carrying them since the AT branded motors are a bit harder to find in the 'Great Plains' catalog.

The thread on YORF has some details of a new line of rockets as well. I can't see them in great detail on my phone, but they don't look bad.