Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    18th December 2010
    Location
    Maryland, 20794
    Posts
    408

    Rocksim engine database

    TRF,

    My Rocksim 9 engine database is misdirected.

    Choose Engine Path is set to C/Program Files(x86)/Rocksim 9/Data (screen 1 below). But the manufacturer file names in Load Engine are don't match (screen 2). Rocksim is picking from a database not located in Rocksim/Data.

    I searched my computer for files shown in Choose Engine Path, Cesaroni Technology Inc. for example. No matching files found.

    Anyone else having this problem? It's shut me down because I don't know where to load new engine data.

    Maybe I'm just feckless.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Engine data path.jpg 
Views:	148 
Size:	60.2 KB 
ID:	42439   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Load engine.jpg 
Views:	166 
Size:	92.0 KB 
ID:	42440  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    7th July 2009
    Location
    Southeast nebraska
    Posts
    501
    Quote Originally Posted by Feckless Counsel View Post
    TRF,

    My Rocksim 9 engine database is misdirected.

    Choose Engine Path is set to C/Program Files(x86)/Rocksim 9/Data (screen 1 below). But the manufacturer file names in Load Engine are don't match (screen 2). Rocksim is picking from a database not located in Rocksim/Data.

    I searched my computer for files shown in Choose Engine Path, Cesaroni Technology Inc. for example. No matching files found.

    Anyone else having this problem? It's shut me down because I don't know where to load new engine data.

    Maybe I'm just feckless.
    The files you see when you are loading an motor are part of 1 file in your data folder. If you were to open the cesaroni.rse file in the rocksim engine editor you will see all the motors that are listed in the choose engine menu, inside that 1 file. So they are there they are just inside the database. If you ever want to add to it you have to find the motor you are looking for and copy all the data and place it in the cesaroni.rse. normally its just easier to get the motor you want from thrustcurve and load it in.

    Hope that helps

    I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
    Level 2 TRA# 12429
    Level 2 NAR# 92507
    KD0MTJ

  3. #3
    Join Date
    18th December 2010
    Location
    Maryland, 20794
    Posts
    408
    G2Rockets,

    Tim at apogee answered this question. See video 26 at: http://www.apogeerockets.com/RockSim_tutorials.asp.

    What I did is download the raw ThrustCurve file and try to append that to the Cesaroni database using Engine Edit. That didn’t work. But adding the file through “Download Engine Data” does.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    25th January 2009
    Location
    Out of my mind, please leave a message!
    Posts
    1,248

    rse Files for current motors

    Check out the Rocketry Planet forums Rocketry Software section, Mark Koelsch has the up to date files both rse and eng for most motor manufacturers.
    Thanks Mark.

    Bill Richardson ENC USNR Ret.
    TRA 8703 L3 :grin:

    It is my opinion that stupidity should be painful, very painful. If it was I think there would be less of it in the world today. :eek:

  5. #5
    Join Date
    1st December 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    124
    Where do we get the files now?
    In thrust we trust

  6. #6
    Join Date
    13th April 2013
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,205
    RockSim can download data directly from ThrustCurve.org, or you can go to that site and choose the motors you want to use.
    AERO-PAC, ROC, LUNAR (TRA & NAR)
    jcrocket.comthrustcurve.org

  7. #7
    Join Date
    1st December 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnCoker View Post
    RockSim can download data directly from ThrustCurve.org, or you can go to that site and choose the motors you want to use.
    I never used RockSim to download anything. I have usually take the .rse or .eng and put in the appropriate folder and import it in. Do you have a link on how to download it directly from thrustcurve.org? Is there an option to group the manufacturer or are you limited to individual engines?
    In thrust we trust

  8. #8
    Join Date
    22nd March 2009
    Location
    Québec, Canada
    Posts
    32
    If you want the .rse file for all Cesaroni motors, I can send it to you. Or we should start a sticky post with the files in. The only thing, my file has the motor in: 1994-K635-RL-17A format.

    The last one I have is from June 2013.

    André
    André Choquette
    CAR #975 L4
    Tripoli# 12025 L3
    http://www.menkar.org
    www.clubqf.ca

  9. #9
    Join Date
    3rd August 2011
    Location
    Northern Mid-Ohio
    Posts
    292
    You can download the files from http://www.rocketryfiles.com

    Go to /FlightSimulation/MotorFiles/

    Quote Originally Posted by Performance nut View Post
    Where do we get the files now?
    Tim
    Ohio Aerospace Modeling Consortium
    TRA 13832 L2
    NAR 92608 L2


    "We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology."

    Carl Sagan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    3rd March 2009
    Posts
    4

    Question added Rocksim 9 Engine files don't show up

    I've got Rocksim 9 and for some reason new motors I've imported do not show up when I select "Choose engine" in prepare to launch.

    When I did "Reload Engine Data" they were there and I moved them from the left to the right, but no show when I attempt to "Choose engine"

    What am I missing?


    Thanks!


    -david

  11. #11
    Join Date
    3rd March 2009
    Posts
    4

    Can not load engines in Rocksim 9

    I'm not happy with my purchase of Rocksim. I've been scouring the webs for answers and I see lots of questions and suggestions for solutions that don't work.

    I just purchased Rocksim 9. I'm trying to add motors to it. I've added them manually, no show, I've attempted to add them via the "Download eng data" page" No joy.

    I've downloaded and imported the files, I can open them in engedit, so the files are valid. I've selected the files from the left side of the "Engine data files" page, added them and they show up on the right, they are in the /Data directory. But, when I try to select one and load it into the simulation in the pre-launch page, they are not there.

    I've tried adding them via the "Download eng data" page. I get a dialog box that pops up very quickly and then goes away even faster that says:

    Downloaded 2698 bytes of 8127 bytes.
    Receiving data
    Received 2698 bytes.

    and nothing shows up in the selection box to select and download.

    I went through video tutorial 26 to verify if I did the procedure correctly and I did. No joy with that attempt either. That video referenced another video, 21 for the manual procedure, but it's no longer on the site, 404 Not Found


    So what's broke? Any suggestions?



    -david

  12. #12
    Join Date
    20th February 2009
    Location
    Cayuga, Indiana
    Posts
    11,878
    You can set up different paths for engines used in the simulation panel. Make sure this /data path is the same as the /data path that you are downloading to.
    L3, TRA #11847
    Tripoli Indiana #132
    Tripoli Central Illinois #59
    Central Illinois Aerospace (NAR) #527
    Chicago Rocket Mafia, "Big Bucks" Dixon
    ___________________________________

    Don't you think it's boring how people talk. -- Lorde

  13. #13
    Join Date
    3rd March 2009
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by dixontj93060 View Post
    You can set up different paths for engines used in the simulation panel. Make sure this /data path is the same as the /data path that you are downloading to.
    Everything is at the install defaults. I have no idea where or how to change such paths.

    I used Rocksim's import functions, it should know where to properly put things.



    -david

  14. #14
    Join Date
    20th February 2009
    Location
    Cayuga, Indiana
    Posts
    11,878
    Quote Originally Posted by dwfunk4475 View Post
    Everything is at the install defaults. I have no idea where or how to change such paths.

    I used Rocksim's import functions, it should know where to properly put things.



    -david
    The install may be following Windows defaults such as pointing to your user account. See if data and design files are in there. If they created there you need to point back to where the files are normally downloaded which should be /Programs(x86)/Rocksim9 (I believe or something reasonably close to that).

    BTW, you can always call Apogee. They are very helpful.
    L3, TRA #11847
    Tripoli Indiana #132
    Tripoli Central Illinois #59
    Central Illinois Aerospace (NAR) #527
    Chicago Rocket Mafia, "Big Bucks" Dixon
    ___________________________________

    Don't you think it's boring how people talk. -- Lorde

  15. #15
    Join Date
    18th March 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,161
    You could just download complete by manufacturer Rse files from my website www.rocketryfiles.com

    Username and password are both guest. Look under flight simulation I believe it is (not in front of computer).

    Copy them Into the Rocksim data folder. Open Rocksim, and import those files.

    Mark Koelsch
    Tripoli 6155 L2
    Owner of http://www.rocketryfiles.com/
    Editor of http://www.thrustcurve.org/
    Keeper of the motor files
    Former Moderator of Rocketry Planet -R.I.P.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •