My first micro downscale

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gagreen

Reaction score
Well decided to try my hand at 1/8 a sd. I am a total rookie so i figure the best way to go is a downscale from one of my favorite manufacturers Fliskits. I ordered everything from fliskits including a cougar 660 that i am planning on using for parachute duration. I am downscaling by a factor of .56 roughly.

mms_picture (32).jpg

Well decided to try my hand at 1/8 a sd. I am a total rookie so i figure the best way to go is a downscale from one of my favorite manufacturers Fliskits. I ordered everything from fliskits including a cougar 660 that i am planning on using for parachute duration. I am downscaling by a factor of .56 roughly.

gagreen:
Are you building a fun flying 1/8A-SD or for a contest?
For a fun fly or gentle competition a micor cougar 660 should be a great start at micro downscaling and super fun to flying.

If your working toward a real contest you my want to look into lighter vehicle body materials like tracing vellium and Pratt Hobbies Vacuum formed ultra light weight styrene Nosecones 10.5, 13, 18 and even 24mm.

Micro "Paper Tigers", "Taper Papers" and Double Taper Papers are a terror on the field LOL.... As large a diameter as BT-20 and up to 12" long with only 2.1 to 3.5 grams of total vehicle mass.....leaving lots of room for steamer mass for total lift off mass under 10 grams;)
Biggest challange is deciding how much streamer is needed with your group & field...to get a Return. Piston or tower launchers are also a necessary evil.

Good luck either way, We'll be watching to see how your MM Cougar comes out and how it does SD wise:)