Is this a Good Idea?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eggplant

L3 | NAR 93664, TRA 17791
Reaction score
It is my first time doing any midpower rocketry. I ordered a package of estes E's, a 9" bt50 body tube, some balsa for fin, a nosecone, an engine block, and a parachute and shockcord. I don't see why this wouldn't work for estes E engines, as I have plenty of lowpower experience. However, would I be able to get a 24/40 rms kit and use aerotech d/e/f reloads in this rocket, or should I buy a kit? I know I will need another ignition system, and possibly a larger pad, but will the rocket work with the rms? What are the best/cheapest reloads for this kit. Also, should I buy this kit for use with an rms:https://www.valuerockets.com/product_details.aspx?pid=7&itemid=14. If I should, should I use the adaptor and use a 24/40, or should I splurge on a 29?
My budget is very limited. Thanks!

Splurge on a 29! Get the 29/40-120 Rousetech case from Redarrowhobbies.com $35.99

If you have to have the aerotech version, it's available for the same price at hobbylinc.com

Braden

Splurge on a 29! Get the 29/40-120 Rousetech case from Redarrowhobbies.com $35.99

If you have to have the aerotech version, it's available for the same price at hobbylinc.com

Braden

Will the reloads be much more expensive? Do you have any advice for my first question about the non-kit rocket? Thanks!

If you can fly an Estes E, you can fly the RMS 24/40. The motor retention may be different depending on how you built the rocket. The RMS aft closure is the thrust ring that can't fit inside the BT. If you use a motor hook for Estes E motors, then the same spacer you would use to fly an Estes D will be needed to use the hook with an RMS case. Just cut a 1" long piece off the end of a used Estes E motor.