Latest Estes Saturn V build suggestions

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joecool

Reaction score
All,

For a while I've had an older Saturn V kit that I've been hesitant to build - given it's historical value I have wanted to keep it in the box as a "collectible". So I was really happy when Estes re-released the kit this year - now I could keep one and build one! However, I was bummed to open up the new kit and discover it can only be flown on a single D if left stock - the old kit used a system of removable motor mounts so it could be flown one 1 D OR a 3C cluster. That always struck me as a great idea as this bird seems way underpowered on a single D engine. So, to my questions:

1) Any suggestions on how I could adapt the new kit to use removable motor mounts like the old one, so I can fly it on a cluster?

2) I've never worked w/vacu-forms before and I'm a little nervous. The instructions say you have to fill the spirals in the body tubes to get good adhesion of the vacu-forms. I've always avoided filling like the plague. Do I really have to do this? Am I misunderstanding the instructions? Any other tips for success w/vacu-forms?

Thanks in advance for your help. I'm planning on making this my winter project so it can fly next spring, so I should be able to take my time and do this right! :)

All,