Brainlord's LPR SciFi Spacefighter build thread. (no heavy weapons)

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brainlord Mesomorph

Reaction score
OK in another thread I proposed a bad idea that will be undiscussed here.

That idea was refined to a much more normal design. Some call it an oddroc. Some doubt even this reduced design will fly. I'm building it anyway, and some people have insisted on a build thread. (my first) so here goes:

this is the design:
QaLwBBP.png

EDIT: the OR render sucks. The fins are beveled (but don't appear that way) and ignore the grain, its wrong too.

the whole idea is an excuse to see how far I can push the custom inkjet decals, so here they are:
sAbPSci.png

(that's just WIP)

I can't say I don't like it. I'm a designer also. CrAzY about unique fin designs! Which is what I'd like to address. I feel pretty certain OR told you it was over stable? Perhaps. OR can hang it in its techno EAR for all I care. Most of my models are deliberately over stable. Now, the only concern I'd have, is how far forward those main fins are. Darn near to the base of the NC. This creates extra drag at the top of the rocket, which can destabilize a model. I have my proof perched on the "queen shelf". But if you are stubborn like I am, you're going to want to prove this to yourself. This old school dood sees 2 possibilities that you might want to think about. Usually, enough nose weight can balance just about anything. Then there's the longer airframe option. Putting more forward tube and some added nose weight goes a long way.

I can't say I don't like it. I'm a designer also. CrAzY about unique fin designs! ... Putting more forward tube and some added nose weight goes a long way.

there'll be 45 g of clay in that nosecone. OR gives it a caliber of .4 (about 3/4 an inch)