Glass Diode Ignition

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matt_Benett

Reaction score
I am new to rocketry. I have been experimenting with KNO3+Sugar with medium success (no explosions, but also nothing over 100meters high).

I have been using a fuse of yarn soaked in Rcandy with ok success. However I also happen to be into electronics so would like to build a electronic system. I plan on pumping 12volts into a diode, causing it to heat/explode (and if I have to I will include a match). I have three questions:

1) Do I put the diode at the start of the rocket fuel or near the end (see image).
2) How do I connect my 12v source to the e-fuse, as to not cause the launch to burn a foot of my power cable that is giving power to the diode?
3) How do I connect my 12v source to the e-fuse, as to allow it to disconnect on take off without slowing down or tethering the rocket?

cyR5iv5jmNwAAAABJRU5ErkJggg==

thanks
Matt

Use a bit of nichrome wire instead of a glass diode as your heating element. Use more than a foot of cable, like 30 more feet.

No worries about being new. We all start somewhere. Your questions are things that everyone in the hobby deals with. I'd strongly recommend getting involved with a rocket club, and/or purchasing and flying a commercial kit (F or G motor size), and looking at how they work things like ignition systems, ignitor placement, and electrical leads. There are many options out there that work as great solutions. You can then take the things you learned from that experience and apply it to your own development. But to give you a start here's some common practices: