High School Rocketry - beginning a new program

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Igotnothing

Reaction score
A friend is a high school math and physics teacher at a private school. His principle has asked him to start a rocketry club/class/??. He is looking for leads on programs, sources and distributors. I said I would help, but I have no experience with the programs, so I am not actually that much help:cyclops:. I would appreciate any leads the forum can give.

I have run an after school rocket club for elementary/middle school kids at my school for 18 years. We are going to have our first launch of the season on Thursday with about thirty kids ranging from first through eighth grades.

We typically build Estes/Quest/Custom rockets, but we have also done some bigger projects including a 12.75" diameter carbon fiber upscale of the Binder Design Dragonfly.
We have bought our rockets from Belleville Hobby for all 18 years with great service rendered.

I don't have a program written up, but I will revisit this thread after school is out.

Good luck, it is a lot of fun!

Thank you, Guy, for the NAR link. I'll pass that along.
Thank you, KennB, for the Fliskits link. They would be inspiring builds for kids who want to understand why one can step off the 3FN platform.
Thank you Dave, for the Sheboygan link. I had looked at them last night and thought they were just a Wisconsin thing, but I need to rethink how they might be willing to share their program ideas with other schools.
Thank you Dan. I have seen your mega Dragon Fly and your students, and I will say you have done an outstanding job. Those kids are blessed to have a mentor like you. I'll mention your success to Tim.

I also looked into the TARC and NSLI programs, and will be passing along those links as well. You all have helped me write-up a bunch of options for Tim, and his students.