Do any of you guys work in utility design?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J Blatz

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I have been selling cars for the last 17 years....or, uh, had been until my boss broke the piggy bank open and took all the pennies out. So I am without work currently.

I have an interview next week with the local utility as an "Associate Electrical Utility Design" person. Basically if a customer has a load request I would be the person who looks at what they need verses available routes/wires and gives them the go/no go and maybe a quote if they need a pole or wire ran. There is another guy doing the same job, a kid, but he has an EE degree so if I got not something deep he'd be there to help, and also, I think all this stuff is mostly software driven anyhow.

The fella who's doing the interview told me there would be a test involving "symbols common in the electrical industry" so I have made index cards for the usual stuff like diodes, transformers, etc. I also made some for more planning oriented stuff,lke the symbols they use on maps to denote certain types of power lines, fuses, substations, etc. To be honest my level of electrical understanding is not great, but currently my primary interest is in getting the job and then bootstrap it from there with in-house training and OTJ experience.

If any of you have a suggestion as to what what I might do to increase my odds of success (by which I mean what should I cram on), I'd appreciate it, and will even dedicate my next beer to your honor.

Find a book or online articles on power distribution, and 3 phase power. I worked on 208v and 480v 3 phase circuits, designing motor controls, motors, etc. All were fed with 15kv power we distributed on our medical campus. A lot online can be found.