Ground testing altimeter, e-matches and ejection charges - need advice

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm beginning a new thread so as to not hijack the e-match thread I started this on.

Gearing up for my very first pyro dual-deploy flight and ground testing has begun. I've done tests on the altimeter and e-matches but I'm still waiting for the reload shop near me to get 4F BP in stock so I can test the ejection charges.

I'll be using a StratoLoggerCF for my alt. Powering this is a Turnigy 2S 300mah Lipo. (discharge 35C-70C).

E-matches purchased off ebay are these ones: https://www.fireworksigniter.com/eproducts/90.html

Specs are as follows:

1. 21°C(70°F)resistance: 1.3±0.15Ω — 1.7±0.15Ω
2. Fire current: 0.40A /0.37A
3. Safety current: 0.25A 5S/0.18A 5S
4. Testing current: 0.5MA

This is my first time using e-matches and I wanted to see how they fired, so I just shorted one across a battery. Pop. Check.

Next I bench tested my altimeter. I snipped off two christmas tree lights from an old strand, tinned the ends and attached one each to the drogue and main pyro circuits. To pull a vacuum, I put everything inside one of the canisters that hooks up to my FoodSaver vacu-bagger. Worked like a charm. Drogue lit up after it sucked all the air out, then the main lit when I pressed the "unseal" button on the lid.