New (and first) 2 stage rocket - Looking for advice as we move along.

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BryRocket

Reaction score
I am somewhat new to HPR and building of rockets but I've had good guidance thus far. The first thing I was told was to build from scratch, so, that's where we are. I've built a couple scratch DD fiberglass rockets and then decided to tackle carbon fiber layup and tube rolling, active stabilization or multi stage rockets. I am super into the carbon thing, and it will happen, but I just couldn't commit to that now. So, multi stage it is.

My goal is to do this build in 4 stages and document it here as to obtain some feedback from others wiser and more experienced than myself. Jim Jarvis has been more than gracious and helpful since I got into this hobby so I hope I can give him a break and solicit some advice elsewhere, although since I am part of his local club, I will still get his opinion as we move along. I plan to make this rocket fly as a single stage first, and then build the booster for the 2 stage testing and subsequent flight.

1. Build the single stage booster (future sustainer).
2. Build the electronics bay (I plan to use a Raven for main/drogue/sustainer ignition, StratologgerCF for back up, some mobius camera and then the new featherweight tracker in the nose).
3. Finish the single stage rocket off.
4. Build the booster.

So, I already broke my initial plan and built the booster section and I will document that here. Hoping for some feedback going forward.

I started by using just an upscaled version of my 3" build that I made a few months back. It was built around a 38mm motor (I know, I know) and it's pretty much maxed at ~5400'. Here it is:

IMG_2617 2.jpg