Extruded Polystyrene Blocks

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gary Byrum

Overstable By Design
Reaction score
Even though I'm a bit new to using this stuff for making nose cones, I am no stranger to the outcome of gluing it together. Many adhesives have a tendency to leave wafers of adhesive protruding from the foam after you turn it on a lathe and start sanding it down. This is my downside to using extruded polystyrene insulation boards from big box stores. Any thing bigger than 2" has to be glued and I would rather not have to go that route.

With that, I'd like to be able to find the same kind of extruded polystyrene but in block form. Much like you might find when ordering balsa blocks for turning. It would be ideal to find someone in the USA to order custom sizes from. 4" x 4" or 5" x 5" possibly 7" x 7", you get the picture. I'm not interested in making small nose cones out of this stuff, balsa is just fine for that. Just the bigger tubes. Let's dispense with any recommendations on adhesives if we can and stick to just the foam inquiry. Any help would be much appreciated.

Home Despot has flotation blocks 10x20x48" that (I think) are extruded styrene, not cheap ($110) but it'd be almost a lifetime supply for nose cones up to 10" dia. Marine supply places might have smaller blocks.

Best -- Terry

Go to one of the many EPS suppliers and get a quote for blocks of whatever size you want. https://univfoam.com/products/eps-sheets-blocks is one.

Check sculpting supply firms for ready made foam blocks in some standard sizes. https://shop.sculpt.com/foam/styrofoam/blocks/ is one.

kj