OR problem saving configurations and sims.

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DeepOvertone

Reaction score
I am a total newbie to OR so please forgive me if this is a simple question. I was given a file the other day by a friend that had motor configurations saved in the file already. I’m trying to do the same thing with a different file and it’s not working.

I load a new configurations, or several for that matter, insert motors and run sims. Then I save the file. When I open it again, the configurations are gone and so are the sims. But it’s saving changes I make to the rocket. Am I missing a step?

Thanks
DO

Sent from my iPhone using Rocketry Forum

1) what version of OR are you using?

2) is it possible you're opening an old file, and not the updated file?

I am a total newbie to OR so please forgive me if this is a simple question. I was given a file the other day by a friend that had motor configurations saved in the file already. I’m trying to do the same thing with a different file and it’s not working.

I load a new configurations, or several for that matter, insert motors and run sims. Then I save the file. When I open it again, the configurations are gone and so are the sims. But it’s saving changes I make to the rocket. Am I missing a step?

Thanks
DO

Is the original file you’re saving a .rkt file or .ork? If it’s a .rkt (rocksim), try saving as a .ork (openrocket) file and then making your changes.

Chris

Sent from my iPad using Rocketry Forum

It was a .RKT file. OR wouldn't allow me to "save as" .ORK file so I manually changed the file extension and that worked. Is there a better way to change from .RKT to .ORK?

By the way, I'm using 15.03 on a Mac.

Thanks,
DO