Explorer&Space Station Aquarius downscales

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GlenP

Reaction score
Possibly one of the most distinctive nose cones from yesteryear, I thought I would make an attempt at making a cardstock version. This template is a rough draft, I haven't built the entire rocket yet, just some test parts. The tubes can be rolled around engines that are wrapped in a layer of copy paper glue-sticked together, or an appropriate diameter dowel wrapped in wax paper to avoid sticking. I like doubling up the paper for tubes, and then have a little extra overlap for strength. The seams should be hidden when mounting the tanks to the main body tube.

Downscaled roughly 72-75% to 24mm main body tube, 18mm engine mount, and 13mm Tanks...You're welcome.

I am not that good at InkScape, the glue tabs are not very pretty, I usually just freehand cut those by tracing the edge of the part, but you get the idea.

10 page PDF is too large to attach, bummer. I might try to upload one page at a time.

24 mm main body tube, coupler, nose cone shoulder, 18 mm engine mount
View attachment Explorer Aquarius Body Lower.pdf
View attachment Explorer Aquarius Body Upper.pdf

13mm Tank templates, print 3 pages of the 3, LL has mount lines for a launch lug on the top of 20 and bottom of 25, laminate the end caps 3 layers, the 1/4" strips are for thrust rings. I aligned the top two 20 and 22 tanks so they can be rolled at once, then cut to split.
View attachment Explorer Aquarius Tanks 3.pdf
View attachment Explorer Aquarius Tanks LL.pdf
View attachment Explorer Aquarius Tanks USA 2.pdf
View attachment Explorer Aquarius Tanks USA 1.pdf

Update: exported to PNG to get file size down, added 1-inch square reference
Nose, PNG version rev A (TRF converts to JPG)
Explorer Aquarius Nose.jpg

Fins
Explorer Aquarius Fins.jpg

IMG_0725.jpg