Why does the AT 24/60 case exist?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DeepOvertone

Reaction score
I'm trying to find a compelling reason for that case to exist. First, the case only has 3 reloads available, all of them being F-35W which come in a 2 pack. The only difference in all three is the delay time. Second, the 24/40 case has 2 slightly more powerful motors available which come in a 3 pack for only a few dollars more. Its like getting a full reload for around $3 if you go the 24/40 F39 route. I've compared the thrust characteristics of both options and they are similar. The main appreciable difference is that the 24/60 uses the White Lightning and the F39s in the 24/40 are Blue Thunder. What else am I missing? I'm new at all of this so there has got to be a reason for its existence that I'm not seeing.

Thanks.

The 24/60 case is much nicer than the 24/40. I like the F35, but it would be nice to have more choices if the other loads ever get certified.

The 24/60 case is much nicer than the 24/40. I like the F35, but it would be nice to have more choices if the other loads ever get certified.

Can you elaborate? It looks like its just 20mm longer to me.

The 24/60 provides an option for a reloadable that is generally the same size as Estes E9/12 and can provide some extra thrust. You realize that extra length means extra propellant and thus more total impulse. Plus, most everyone likes propellant options and the longer case appears to support some them.

That being said, since there has only been one load out there, I would have preferred to have bought another 24/40 as I lost my last one shortly after I got the 24/60.