HPR Cluster Idea... What To Do When Some Start, And Others Don't

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

K'Tesh

.....OpenRocket's ..... "Chuck Norris"
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I'm not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV...

Ok... So, I'm not a whizkid on electronics, but one thing I seem to keep seeing is problems with clustered HPR launches going bad when one or more of the motors fail to light. Now, presuming that once one lights, and the others are having a momentary delay in firing off, the speed that the rocket leaves the pad can yank the leads off the igniters, and disaster ensues.

So, what about this idea? The launch pad director pushes the button, and that sends a signal (via wires, or a reliable wireless system) to onboard electronics that send the juice to the motors... If the rocket leaves the pad, the power will continue flowing to the late starting motors... UNLESS sensors detect aberrant flight performance, at which the power stops, and preloaded emergency procedures go into effect (blow it apart or blow it up). Basically, in my mind, this is some kind of variation of an airstart. However, the rocket doesn't need to be in motion for the start.

Can it be done? Has it been done? Can I somehow get some credit for the idea if it hasn't?

I don't know, as clustering is not my thing. But, I can tell you this: while you may get credit, you will not get royalties. You cannot patent an idea, only the execution of an idea. If one could patent an idea, then there would only be one brand of car, one brand of refrigerator, etc. Unless you come up with the specifications for the device, then all you could ever get is an attaboy.

I'm not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV...