Help with my first scratch build

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ToneDeafJunior

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
First of all, thank you to those who would like to help. I'm new to TRF. I just completed and flew an Estes Mercury Redstone. First rocket I've flown since Boy Scouts some 35 years ago. I am attempting to build my first scratch rocket and could use some assistance. (I like the looks of the Gabriel iii A/S) I live in a smaller city with only one hobby shop and its supplies are limited. I'm looking online to buy components. Would rather not say the name of the shop. I'm considering 2 x 2.6" tubes with a coupler, 1/8" plywood for fins, nose cone MC-PNC26, shock cord, 24" parachute and a 24mm engine mount to use Estes E9-4 motors. I was told by the online retailer that the rocket will be totally under powered and they suggested a 29mm engine and F motors. Specifically the Aerotech F44. So... The engines are so much more expensive. Are they correct that the rocket would be underpowered with the E9-4? Should I suck it up and go with the 29mm and the Aerotech F44 engines?

Secondly, Do I need to weight the nose cone? I've searched TRF and I see many conversations about weighting the nose cone to limit height and not too many about stability. Would you all suggest I weight the nose cone for my new build? Thank you so much in advance.

Welcome to scratch building! Not enough information to advise on motors. We'd need to see the complete design, as there are just too many variables. Have you tried Open Rocket? It's a free rocket design program. As for online retailers, I really like Balsa Machining. I also like Rocketarium, but their shipping can be a little high.

Welcome :)