Redundancy In Rocketry

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AndrewW

Reaction score
I would like to get some opinions how many of you incorporate redundancy into your High Power Rockets. My background is in the power industry where redundancy is considered an absolute necessity but does have to be weighed against the possible risks of being over complicated, i.e. Failure to clear a faulted transmission line is really bad but alternatively tripping a line for no reason has its own consequences. I fly a lot of dual deploy and since day one I built a sled with redundant altimeters, batteries and ejection charges that I share among several of my rockets. I have never had a rocket come in ballistic but have had at least two ejection charges fail to fire that checked out OK during pre-flight. I even tend to leave in the motor ejection charge as a tertiary just in case. So I wanted to see when others deem redundant systems "required." I am not specifically talking about just electronics but it could be anything from igniters to chutes.

Consider that you're lofting something into the air that can come down with deadly force.

For my L1 and L2 models where the motor delay supports it, I run with the following redundancy:

Apogee:
- Primary Eggtimer Quantum deploys drogue
- Secondary Eggtimer Quantum deploys drogue at +1 seconds (+20% BP charge)
- Motor Delay deploys drogue usually around apogee +2-3 seconds

At 600-1000':
- Primary Eggtimer Quantum deploys main
- Secondary Eggtimer Quantum deploys main at -100' (+20% BP charge)

I like to get my expensive models back in one piece, but more than that I like to bring it down safely.

For my L3, the motor delay doesn't last long enough for a failsafe deploy using motor eject, so I'm running primary plus backup.