Spill hole

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

viciouspeanut

Reaction score
So I have searched on this, but it mostly came back with LPR stuff. I have an EZI w/ the LOC 36" 'chute - empty weight 50 oz. It comes down about 16 ft/sec per calculations. That is too slow to me and I'd like to speed it up to 20-22 ft/sec. I've never cut a spill hole in a nylon chute - so I'm not sure how big to go and also if I need to sew it up around the cut or being rip stop nylon it will be ok as is. From calculation a 30" would get me where I want to be, but I know a 6" spill hole is not the same as a 30" chute. Also I don't want to go so big it causes opening issues. Thanks for any guidance!

I have herd of cutting a hole in a nylon chute using a soldering iron to stop the edges fraying. Never done it my self. Probably sew as well.

A word of caution. I am not an expert in this area!

50 ounces with a 36 inch chute, I get a sim rate of 22 ft/s. What Cd are you using for the chute? Parasheets only have a Cd of .75 or so.

All good questions... Especially the one asking how you got the 16 ft/sec number? If it was in a sim, then I would be very suspicious of the number unless you have a very accurate Cd for the chute.

With that aside, in actual flight does it drop too slow for you? If it does, I would consider a smaller chute rather than cutting up an existing chute.