Help Support RocketryForum by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.


Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6
Results 151 to 164 of 164
  1. #151
    Join Date
    3rd July 2017
    Location
    Austin! TX
    Posts
    54
    FINALLY placed my order!!! Very excited to not lose rockets haha.

    I'm going to get the Turnigy 1s lipo. Does anyone have a charger they'd recommend? The world of these small batteries is all new and foreign to me.

    If someone posted a link to a decent charger and I just missed it, my apologies in advance.


  2. #152
    Join Date
    6th September 2009
    Posts
    1,795
    Quote Originally Posted by Exactimator View Post
    Correct. Those stats, LAT, LON, ALTITUDE go blank when signal is lost. It does continue to show the line to the last known location. And once I got within 700-800 feet and signal was regained, the stats all displayed again.

    It didn't lose signal while it was flying. Only when it landed from the ground interference.
    Hmm, this is a bit troubling. I want to see some coordinates at all times. Maybe the last known position is still displayed in the console/log? I'll have to test it out. I have all 3 apps on my phone and I am getting the features mixed up. I think maybe Bluetooth GPS plus my trusty Garmin is the best approach.


  3. #153
    Join Date
    3rd July 2017
    Location
    Austin! TX
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by HandsomeRob View Post
    FINALLY placed my order!!! Very excited to not lose rockets haha.

    I'm going to get the Turnigy 1s lipo. Does anyone have a charger they'd recommend? The world of these small batteries is all new and foreign to me.

    If someone posted a link to a decent charger and I just missed it, my apologies in advance.
    Welp. Nevermind. Ordered the one off Hobbyking.

  4. #154
    Join Date
    17th February 2014
    Posts
    635
    Quote Originally Posted by Buckeye View Post
    Hmm, this is a bit troubling. I want to see some coordinates at all times. Maybe the last known position is still displayed in the console/log? I'll have to test it out. I have all 3 apps on my phone and I am getting the features mixed up. I think maybe Bluetooth GPS plus my trusty Garmin is the best approach.
    I tried it tonight and disconnected the TX power to simulate signal loss. The CONSOLE tab continues to show all the info. It just stops scrolling. There's a lot of digits that are easy to lose the lat/lon in. If you can figure out how to decipher it (I'm not sure I could) the info will be there for reference.
    NAR
    L1: 2/2/13, Madcow 4" Patriot. CTI H143
    L2: 9/2/14, Madcow 4" AGM33 Pike. CTI J335. 2,878 ft, 418 mph
    L3: 1/7/17, Wildman Drago XL. AT M1500. 13,559 ft, 1,017 mph, Mach 1.2

  5. #155
    Join Date
    6th September 2009
    Posts
    1,795
    Yeah, all the data is there in the console. I just scan the text looking for familiar lat/lon numbers. Here is definition of the various NMEA sentences:

    http://aprs.gids.nl/nmea/

  6. #156
    Join Date
    18th January 2009
    Location
    Toney, Alabama
    Posts
    3,594
    Quote Originally Posted by Exactimator View Post
    I use these Turnigy 750mah LiPos as recommended by others here on TRF: https://hobbyking.com/en_us/turnigy-...-qr-w100s.html I haven't tested them for how long they last.
    These are the batteries I picked up as well, bought six of them. Now I need those pigtails to show up so I can get into some testing.
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster, and if you look long into an abyss, the abyss also looks into you." - Friedrich Nietzsche

    TRA# 08705 L3

    www.dragonworksrocketry.com

    DragonWorks Rocketry YouTube Channel

  7. #157
    Join Date
    17th February 2014
    Posts
    635
    If everything works out, in a couple weeks I might be able to take one of these to ~14K-15K feet. Does anyone have experience at that altitude yet?
    NAR
    L1: 2/2/13, Madcow 4" Patriot. CTI H143
    L2: 9/2/14, Madcow 4" AGM33 Pike. CTI J335. 2,878 ft, 418 mph
    L3: 1/7/17, Wildman Drago XL. AT M1500. 13,559 ft, 1,017 mph, Mach 1.2

  8. #158
    Join Date
    24th October 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    512
    Quote Originally Posted by Exactimator View Post
    If everything works out, in a couple weeks I might be able to take one of these to ~14K-15K feet. Does anyone have experience at that altitude yet?
    I would expect it will work fine. I have the RTx system which uses the same GPS and radio and I've flown to 21k with no loss of signal and recovered up to 1 mile away with no issues. I fly my RTx simultaneously connected to the LCD screen and to my phone (using RocketTrack when I have phone signal). Please report back here after you've flown and share your experience.

    -brant
    NAR#93520
    TRA#16436

  9. #159
    Join Date
    19th June 2017
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    75
    Did you ever figure out how to import them? I have the rocket_path.txt on my desktop but can't get it to open.
    NAR 102867
    L1 06/2017
    L2 08/2017

  10. #160
    Join Date
    11th February 2017
    Location
    south Florida
    Posts
    658
    Quote Originally Posted by Exactimator View Post
    I tried it tonight and disconnected the TX power to simulate signal loss. The CONSOLE tab continues to show all the info. It just stops scrolling. There's a lot of digits that are easy to lose the lat/lon in. If you can figure out how to decipher it (I'm not sure I could) the info will be there for reference.
    Any update on this? In the event of signal loss, the only way to get the coordinates is through the console? Do other apps have the same issue? I've been using Rocket Track so far without issue, but I've not yet had a hard landing or anything that killed the tx.

    L1 3/25/17 H135 Wildman Darkstar Jr
    L2 8/12/17 J180 LOC Expediter
    L3 3/17/18 M1350 Painkiller Max

  11. #161
    Join Date
    17th February 2014
    Posts
    635
    Quote Originally Posted by billdz View Post
    Any update on this? In the event of signal loss, the only way to get the coordinates is through the console? Do other apps have the same issue? I've been using Rocket Track so far without issue, but I've not yet had a hard landing or anything that killed the tx.
    If you lose signal you lose coordinate updates. The map still gives you the track line and the existing coordinates remain in the console tab until you get close enough to regain signal then it starts updating again.

    Does that answer your question?
    NAR
    L1: 2/2/13, Madcow 4" Patriot. CTI H143
    L2: 9/2/14, Madcow 4" AGM33 Pike. CTI J335. 2,878 ft, 418 mph
    L3: 1/7/17, Wildman Drago XL. AT M1500. 13,559 ft, 1,017 mph, Mach 1.2

  12. #162
    Join Date
    11th February 2017
    Location
    south Florida
    Posts
    658
    Thanks for the reply. In an earlier post you said "The receiver lost signal when it landed which was expected. Rocket Track held the last position and gave me a line to that position, but didn't show the distance, lat/lon, or other data until I got to within around 700-800 feet of the transmitter, it regained signal, started showing all the data again, and took me right to my rocket." I use Rocket Track but have not experienced this issue, perhaps I didn't lose the signal. Are you saying that with Rocket Track you lose distance and bearing info if the signal is lost? Is that also the case with Rocket Locator? 700 feet does not seem like a lot of range.

    L1 3/25/17 H135 Wildman Darkstar Jr
    L2 8/12/17 J180 LOC Expediter
    L3 3/17/18 M1350 Painkiller Max

  13. #163
    Join Date
    15th October 2016
    Location
    Huntsville AL
    Posts
    2,240
    When I lose signal, I still have the bearing line going to the last received position.

  14. #164
    Join Date
    17th February 2014
    Posts
    635
    Quote Originally Posted by billdz View Post
    Are you saying that with Rocket Track you lose distance and bearing info if the signal is lost?
    It shows a bearing line to the last known position.

    Quote Originally Posted by billdz View Post
    Is that also the case with Rocket Locator?
    I don't know.

    Quote Originally Posted by billdz View Post
    700 feet does not seem like a lot of range.
    I'm not sure what your concern is.

    NAR
    L1: 2/2/13, Madcow 4" Patriot. CTI H143
    L2: 9/2/14, Madcow 4" AGM33 Pike. CTI J335. 2,878 ft, 418 mph
    L3: 1/7/17, Wildman Drago XL. AT M1500. 13,559 ft, 1,017 mph, Mach 1.2

Similar Threads

  1. Missle Works RRC3 problem
    By Killachrome in forum Rocketry Electronics and Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9th May 2015, 11:55 AM
  2. missle works RRC3 gps. any progress?
    By Julian in forum Rocketry Electronics and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th December 2014, 02:11 AM
  3. Missle Works -- RRC2 documentation
    By supertaco in forum Rocketry Electronics and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th March 2014, 03:40 AM
  4. Missle Works
    By qquake2k in forum The Watering Hole
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th March 2010, 07:43 AM
  5. Missle Works Phone Number?
    By Peter in forum Recovery
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th November 2007, 06:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •