Help Support RocketryForum by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.


Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6
Results 151 to 158 of 158
  1. #151
    Join Date
    3rd July 2017
    Location
    Austin! TX
    Posts
    51
    FINALLY placed my order!!! Very excited to not lose rockets haha.

    I'm going to get the Turnigy 1s lipo. Does anyone have a charger they'd recommend? The world of these small batteries is all new and foreign to me.

    If someone posted a link to a decent charger and I just missed it, my apologies in advance.


  2. #152
    Join Date
    6th September 2009
    Posts
    1,699
    Quote Originally Posted by Exactimator View Post
    Correct. Those stats, LAT, LON, ALTITUDE go blank when signal is lost. It does continue to show the line to the last known location. And once I got within 700-800 feet and signal was regained, the stats all displayed again.

    It didn't lose signal while it was flying. Only when it landed from the ground interference.
    Hmm, this is a bit troubling. I want to see some coordinates at all times. Maybe the last known position is still displayed in the console/log? I'll have to test it out. I have all 3 apps on my phone and I am getting the features mixed up. I think maybe Bluetooth GPS plus my trusty Garmin is the best approach.


  3. #153
    Join Date
    3rd July 2017
    Location
    Austin! TX
    Posts
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by HandsomeRob View Post
    FINALLY placed my order!!! Very excited to not lose rockets haha.

    I'm going to get the Turnigy 1s lipo. Does anyone have a charger they'd recommend? The world of these small batteries is all new and foreign to me.

    If someone posted a link to a decent charger and I just missed it, my apologies in advance.
    Welp. Nevermind. Ordered the one off Hobbyking.

  4. #154
    Join Date
    17th February 2014
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by Buckeye View Post
    Hmm, this is a bit troubling. I want to see some coordinates at all times. Maybe the last known position is still displayed in the console/log? I'll have to test it out. I have all 3 apps on my phone and I am getting the features mixed up. I think maybe Bluetooth GPS plus my trusty Garmin is the best approach.
    I tried it tonight and disconnected the TX power to simulate signal loss. The CONSOLE tab continues to show all the info. It just stops scrolling. There's a lot of digits that are easy to lose the lat/lon in. If you can figure out how to decipher it (I'm not sure I could) the info will be there for reference.
    NAR
    L1: 2/2/13, Madcow 4" Patriot. CTI H143
    L2: 9/2/14, Madcow 4" AGM33 Pike. CTI J335. 2,878 ft, 418 mph
    L3: 1/7/17, Wildman Drago XL. AT M1500. 13,559 ft, 1,017 mph, Mach 1.2

  5. #155
    Join Date
    6th September 2009
    Posts
    1,699
    Yeah, all the data is there in the console. I just scan the text looking for familiar lat/lon numbers. Here is definition of the various NMEA sentences:

    http://aprs.gids.nl/nmea/

  6. #156
    Join Date
    18th January 2009
    Location
    Toney, Alabama
    Posts
    3,572
    Quote Originally Posted by Exactimator View Post
    I use these Turnigy 750mah LiPos as recommended by others here on TRF: https://hobbyking.com/en_us/turnigy-...-qr-w100s.html I haven't tested them for how long they last.
    These are the batteries I picked up as well, bought six of them. Now I need those pigtails to show up so I can get into some testing.
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster, and if you look long into an abyss, the abyss also looks into you." - Friedrich Nietzsche

    TRA# 08705 L3

    www.dragonworksrocketry.com

    DragonWorks Rocketry YouTube Channel

  7. #157
    Join Date
    17th February 2014
    Posts
    569
    If everything works out, in a couple weeks I might be able to take one of these to ~14K-15K feet. Does anyone have experience at that altitude yet?
    NAR
    L1: 2/2/13, Madcow 4" Patriot. CTI H143
    L2: 9/2/14, Madcow 4" AGM33 Pike. CTI J335. 2,878 ft, 418 mph
    L3: 1/7/17, Wildman Drago XL. AT M1500. 13,559 ft, 1,017 mph, Mach 1.2

  8. #158
    Join Date
    24th October 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    506
    Quote Originally Posted by Exactimator View Post
    If everything works out, in a couple weeks I might be able to take one of these to ~14K-15K feet. Does anyone have experience at that altitude yet?
    I would expect it will work fine. I have the RTx system which uses the same GPS and radio and I've flown to 21k with no loss of signal and recovered up to 1 mile away with no issues. I fly my RTx simultaneously connected to the LCD screen and to my phone (using RocketTrack when I have phone signal). Please report back here after you've flown and share your experience.

    -brant

    NAR#93520
    TRA#16436

Similar Threads

  1. Missle Works RRC3 problem
    By Killachrome in forum Rocketry Electronics and Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9th May 2015, 11:55 AM
  2. missle works RRC3 gps. any progress?
    By Julian in forum Rocketry Electronics and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th December 2014, 02:11 AM
  3. Missle Works -- RRC2 documentation
    By supertaco in forum Rocketry Electronics and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th March 2014, 03:40 AM
  4. Missle Works
    By qquake2k in forum The Watering Hole
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th March 2010, 07:43 AM
  5. Missle Works Phone Number?
    By Peter in forum Recovery
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th November 2007, 06:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •