Was DaVinci's helicopter powered by Heron's engin (rocket engine)?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kokes

Reaction score
In course of my turbine/propeller programming I studied thoroughly pictures of DaVinci's helicopter and I discovered it was most likely meant to be propelled by an engine, Heron's engine to be exact. Now since one of my propellers is very similar to DaVinci's and I really want to test it I thought this place may get me some feedback first, before I spent money on a model. The Heron's engine is basically a pot where water is boiling and jets are placed tangentially on a circumference that spit the steam out making the pot spin ultra-fast. It is the only engine that was known in Leonardo's times. What do you think?

Original drawing:
stroj.jpg

Parts that "don't fit". Does this look like smoke, perhaps from a fire somewhere inside?
kour.png

This seems to me like a steam spewing out of a pipe:
para.png

And this seems like a proof of cylindrical shape, most likely a pipe, on a perimeter:
trubka.jpg

My reconstruction using SW I wrote. Small airfoil toward outside yellowed:
vrtule.jpg

Same thing, large airfoil toward inside yellowed:
vrtuleB.png

This could be very important for me since I am about to start a crowdfunding campain with my vanes, and this could be made into a nice perk. But spending any money on anything that doesn't bring me money back is a luxury at this point of my life, after 10 years of independent self-supported development. Tell me what you think. Could DaVinci have meant a motorized vehicle with rocket-engine like propulsion? Would this count as, say, a reconstruction? Let me know.

Jan

Human powered, like a row boat, with a clutch type mechanism. Push then pull, push then pull,............

Required two people, light and strong.......

See the link below for a working prototype.

XXXXX