Statologger CF

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kwrocket

Reaction score
Without sounding like a total noob, is there a correct "*** position for the Stratologger CF no reference in manual that I saw...second on a 7.5" diameter rocket the manual calls for (4) .50 static pressure sampling holes, that seems a bit excessive. My Perfectflight HiAlt only required (4) .250 holes on a 7.5" diameter ... Before I modify my bird, I want to make sure these concerns are correct....any experiences or suggestions?
THX
Ed

THe StratologgerCF doesn't have a required orientation. It will work in any orientation. If using it for firing ejection charges, it should be in the electronics bay with either 3 or 4 vent holes and no others. As for the hole-size formula, I haven't tested anything above a 4" diameter payload bay, but the PerfectFlite formula works well for the smaller sizes. You could try Adept Rocketry's formula if you like the results better https://www.adeptrocketry.com/ALT1Rds.htm.

Ed,

I fly with two 71/2" BlueTube av-bays with CF altimeters, on different rockets, a 14" long AB with (3) 1/4" static ports and an 18" AB with (3) 5/16" static ports. I don't believe (4) 1/2" static ports are needed. I've flown twelve flights on these rockets with good deployments.

THe StratologgerCF doesn't have a required orientation. It will work in any orientation. If using it for firing ejection charges, it should be in the electronics bay with either 3 or 4 vent holes and no others. As for the hole-size formula, I haven't tested anything above a 4" diameter payload bay, but the PerfectFlite formula works well for the smaller sizes. You could try Adept Rocketry's formula if you like the results better https://www.adeptrocketry.com/ALT1Rds.htm.

Good info from Adapt, but this statement is a bit contradictory: