Thermite or dipped igniters for reliably igniting 4 29mm I205's?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrewD

Reaction score
So i'm planning on flying a cluster of 4 Aerotech I205 DMS motors for an upcoming launch. And of course the question arised on how I can light them all simultaneously. I've made and experimented with some copper/aluminum thermite with good success. Does anyone see an issue with using thermite on these 29mm motors? I'm talking only 2 grams in a straw wrapper around a low current ematch. Bench testing has yielded good, consistent results.

As an alternative, I have some QuickDip that i've used on the same ematches folded over about an inch down and dipped. I wouldn't be opposed to using the dipped ematches if I know they'll get the job done. Your input is appreciated.

I'm no expert on thermite, but I've read many accounts of overpressure from people who use it. Has your testing included using it in a motor? 2 grams sounds like a lot for such a small motor. I'd put it out farther than usual just in case.

A decent high power launch controller should be able to start all four motors quickly using the firstfire igniters that come with the motors without need for any extra inducement.

Steve Shannon

I'm no expert on thermite, but I've read many accounts of overpressure from people who use it. Has your testing included using it in a motor? 2 grams sounds like a lot for such a small motor. I'd put it out farther than usual just in case.

A decent high power launch controller should be able to start all four motors quickly using the firstfire igniters that come with the motors without need for any extra inducement.

Steve Shannon