Hi All, I'm new to the Rocketry Forum and had a question

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All, I'm new to the Rocketry Forum and had a question: has anyone tried foamcore (aka Foam Board) for fins or glider wings (especially the delta shaped models) and if so, how does it compare to balsa in terms of its strength/weight ratio for low-power rockets (A, B, or C engines)? It's plentiful in 1/2" and 3/16" thicknesses at hobby and art stores, there's no wood grain to sand and finish, and is easily cut, shaped, and painted.

Yes - a number of people have used both foam core and depron sheets (from Midwest - think of foamcore without the paper) for both. More for wings and even centering rings. The main problem is finding foamcore that isn't warped. Too often there will be a distinct curl to the sheets. This seems to be worse (from my experience) if the board is stored standing on its edge. Also, it isn't quite as stif as balsa or ply, and larger fins and wings can flutter a lot. Slower launching gliders can work, but as fins for any rocket large enough to use the thicker fins, it could lead to fin shredding. There are a few builders who have built large fleets of radio controlled rocket gliders from foam core and depron (AstronMike comes to mind immediately).

Hi All, I'm new to the Rocketry Forum and had a question: has anyone tried foamcore (aka Foam Board) for fins or glider wings (especially the delta shaped models) and if so, how does it compare to balsa in terms of its strength/weight ratio for low-power rockets (A, B, or C engines)? It's plentiful in 1/2" and 3/16" thicknesses at hobby and art stores, there's no wood grain to sand and finish, and is easily cut, shaped, and painted.