New enthusiast with some questions

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

merlinfire

Reaction score
As a bit of background, myself and two friends are interested in High-Power rocketry. We're all in late-20's early 30's, I'm a software developer and they're both mechanical engineers. Eventually, the goal is to make a 100% scratch, end-to-end launch/control system and rocket. But first steps first...

So this seems to be THE rocketry forum on the net and I wanted to ask you, if your goal was starting out 100% fresh today, with no prior rocketry experience other than computer games and back-of-the-napkin theorycrafting, how would you start? I am assuming you'd start with smaller model rockets and then work your way up, would you agree with that? Are the fundamentals of rocketry going to be the same, roughly, between the smallest model rockets and the largest sub-HPR rockets? Or should I stairstep up each class individually? Please note: not trying to diminish the value of any aspect of commercial model rocketry.

TLDR: want to eventually launch "big rockets" with everything including payload and control/telemetry designed in-house, and don't want to lose any fingers doing it. Looking for advice on where to start for best beginner experience. Expecting to learn a lot along the way. Also looking for good book suggestions