Estes Expedition Kit # 7249 Build Thread

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Howie

Reaction score
Hey everyone, this is my first build thread I'm posting to this forum. Thank you to all who have posted in the past - you've been most helpful - and hope I measure up to their high standards here.

Here is a picture of the kit itself. As you can see, it's got a colorful scheme, and it has several transitions in construction, making this a Level 4 kit:

007249_package.jpg

Before assembly, I primed the four external tubes of the kit: BT-55 upper body tube, the two BT-60 tubes that will become the three fairings around the lower body tube, and the BT-70 lower body tube.

Construction begins with the motor mount assembly. The motor mount tube is BT-50 24mm tubing. The motor mount clip is 3-3/4" long to fit an E12 motor, or C11 / D12 motors with the supplied orange engine block. The large simulated nozzle is a cone transition that is cut out from a printed pattern on a cardstock sheet. This attaches to a small centering ring at the top and a larger perforated centering ring at the bottom. This slips onto the motor mount tube and over the motor clip. The top of this nozzle butts up against the lowering centering ring for the body tube. Here's that completed assembly:

IMG_8976.jpg

I'm not a fan of disposable wadding, so I took the center out center from one BT-50 / BT-70 centering ring and cut that into two half-moon pieces. After coating one side of each with quick set CA glue, I glued those inside the motor mount tube to create a S-baffle. I also deviated from the kit by attaching a kevlar cord to the motor mount as well. After attaching the centering rings at the forward end of the motor mount tube, the central centering ring and upper body tube attaches as shown:

IMG_8977.jpg