What kind of paint for FG rockets?

I'm new to painting FG rockets and was wondering what the common paint is that most people have good luck with?
    I'm not looking for automotive paint or anything like that. Just a spray can brand of some kind maybe?
    Also, is it the same basic steps? Sand, prime, sand, paint, sand, paint?
    Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by Ccolvin968 View Post
    I'm new to painting FG rockets and was wondering what the common paint is that most people have good luck with?
    I'm not looking for automotive paint or anything like that. Just a spray can brand of some kind maybe?
    Also, is it the same basic steps? Sand, prime, sand, paint, sand, paint?
    Thanks!
    A good primer under the paint is more important than the color coat. Duplicolor primers or Rustoleum Automotive primers are sandable primers and adhere to the FG well. After a good primer the Rustoleum Professional colors work well, Duplicolor automotive touchup colors, even Krylon 2X works, there are higher grade spray bombs others use that work very well too.
    Its pretty much the same steps as a cardboard rocket other than less filling and sanding.

Rich

NAR# 99154

L3-4x upscale Estes Cherokee-D- AT M1297W 5/28/2016 http://www.rocketryforum.com/showthr...r-rharshberger

TriCities Rocketeers NAR section# 736 http://www.tricitiesrocketeers.org/

I use a DTM primer in a spraycan from Sherwin-Williams with good results, SEM is a good product as well, as it's a auto body grade primer in a can (found at auto paint supply houses)
    Earth: The Insane Asylum of the Universe, nowhere else could things be this screwed up.
    I prefer rockets with 4 fins.
    Tripoli# 14243
    Level 1

Good info!
    Thanks guys!

also most paint manufacturers advise against using etching primers on fiberglas
    Earth: The Insane Asylum of the Universe, nowhere else could things be this screwed up.
    Tripoli# 14243
    Level 1