Hyperion--TRA Level 3 Build

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blackbrandt

That Darn College Student
Reaction score
Well, here it is. It seems like only yesterday I was trying to build a 2-stage K805 to G80 rocket with no knowledge of fiberglassing. (If you don't know what I'm talking about, then there's no need for you to know. LONG story.)

I've been toying around with this build now for several months in CAD, tweaking different parameters and dimensions to make this the absolute coolest Level 3 Build ever.

"BUT WAIT MATT! You're only a Level 1!"

Yes. I know. I've gotten permission from my TAP's to begin construction. I'll knock out my L2 flight sometime before LDRS.

Without further ado...

I present Hyperion. This is the naked version. The paint scheme is being worked on. Shoutout to David Nagy for coming up with the name.
Naked Picture.jpg

The specs are as follows:

Diameter: 7.67"
Height: ~13' (nose cone ~3 feet, body tubes 10 feet)
Estimated Loaded Pad weight: 56 pounds (this is on the high side, I am expecting it to weigh a bit less).
Motor Mount: 98mm

Materials:
Nose Cone: Fiberglass, 33" long
Body Tubes: LOC/Precision cardboard with 2 layers of 6oz fiberglass cloth
Fins: 3/8" birch ply, 1 layer of 6oz fiberglass on each side.

Adhesive of choice for the build is US Composites 635 3:1 Medium resin, which is what I normally use. Any tacking will be done with 30 minute epoxy.
Bonding: Epoxy with chopped carbon.
Laminating: Straight epoxy, no filler
Fillets: Epoxy with colloidal silica

A phone call a while back to Ken Allen of Performance Hobbies landed 10 feet of LOC tubing and a LOC avionics bay in my workshop.
Parts.jpg

I will be adding more detail about each section as it comes along. First up are the fins.