Help Support RocketryForum by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.

MMX motors as spin rockets...

I hope this isn't too dumb of a thought and I also hope it doesn't appear as a blasphemous use of MMX motors!

Have MMX motors been used as spin rocket motors on a larger rocket? Several full size rockets such as the x-17 and Doorknob (I think) used small motors to initiate spin just after launch and I thought this might be doable using MMX motors on a mid-power scale rocket. Of course it would require some type of timed ignition, but that is very common these days. Would be a pretty neat scale touch, I think!

I have to admit that I have ZERO experience with MMX motors, ignition etc. so there may be a hundred reasons that this is totally silly idea. But you never learn if you don't ask, I suppose.

Thanks!

Mike

Cheers,

Mike Mulligan
    NAR 75648
    DART San Diego

I would think that if one wanted any sort of practical effect, something like the d2.3 would be much more useful.

Quote Originally Posted by Mugs914 View Post
    I hope this isn't too dumb of a thought and I also hope it doesn't appear as a blasphemous use of MMX motors!

Have MMX motors been used as spin rocket motors on a larger rocket? Several full size rockets such as the x-17 and Doorknob (I think) used small motors to initiate spin just after launch and I thought this might be doable using MMX motors on a mid-power scale rocket. Of course it would require some type of timed ignition, but that is very common these days. Would be a pretty neat scale touch, I think!

I have to admit that I have ZERO experience with MMX motors, ignition etc. so there may be a hundred reasons that this is totally silly idea. But you never learn if you don't ask, I suppose.

Thanks!

Mike